david schrott is everywhere

blast from my 1995 past (jenny krieder and the autumn/anatomy of a bowl cut).

Posted in Uncategorized by thebreakfastdictator on 05/08/2011

896 & 30

There was a magical time in my past when I’d show up somewhere, do nothing, and girls would swoon. Perhaps it was the allure of my bowl cut. Or the oversized flannel and jean shorts; to be honest, I don’t know, but in the Summer and Autumn of 1995, two younger, exceptionally cute girls from Solanco High School fought over me. I met both through my summer-time friend Tim, and though the details are fuzzy, I’m pretty sure I met one of them at the Fireman’s Festival and the other at the Fair. Every afternoon, I’d get home from school and they’d both call me at some point. I’d hide in my downstairs bedroom on the analog phone, talking, and intently listening for a *click* in the background that would signal that one of my snoopy sisters had picked up the other line. After a few weeks of these time-intensive phone calls and hangouts at the high school football games, a 15 year old boy has had enough. He just wants to be left alone and he puts the kaibosh on both; in retrospect, 15 year old boy is decidedly a fool, but that is another conversation for another time.

I think I ran into Jenny Krieder the summer afterwards when me and Sean Rossi were at the Festival.

Then I saw her at the Quarryville grocery last Saturday and all these forgotten memories came flooding back.  I was too shy to say “Hi”.

I wonder what she’s up to these days?

Leave a Reply

