david schrott is everywhere

black coffee in the afternoon, baby.

Posted in Uncategorized by thebreakfastdictator on 01/18/2011

black.

It’s easy to think about doing something and thinking that by thinking about it that you’ve actually done it. I do this all of the time. I get thirsty; very thirsty. There’s water in the Nalgene on the table. I think about drinking it. I think about drinking it more. And more. And more. But my throat remains dry and scratchy. An hour or so later I wonder why I’m still thirsty. I wonder about it a lot because I’ve been thinking about that water forever. Perhaps an hour from then I’ll reach over and actually pick it up. Two hours after I’ve thought about taking a drink, I might actually take a drink.

The girls who work at Gleaner’s are so pleasant. Every time I go in there, it makes my morning. It makes my morning ’cause they’re so damn pleasant. I want to be that pleasant. I want to walk into a room and have people be excited:

“Schrott’s here.”

“I love that guy!”

“What a pleasant son-of-a-bitch.”

To-day’s weather was just like a year ago to-day. Drywall’s been good to you. First came the snow, then the sleet: cold and hard. Temperatures rose and with it came the soggy rain, then a mist. It drifted across Center City as we hopped puddles and breathed in the cold, wet air. The piercing air that stung our lungs was interrupted every few seconds by soft, warm cigarette smoke rolled from the finest cuts.

Keep hopping. Keep slipping. Keep soaking your shoes. Keep dirtying your jeans. Keep punishing your lungs.

Enjoy your worries. You may never have them again.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Paul said, on 01/19/2011 at 11:37 pm

    i love you writing again. thank you for this. again.


Leave a Reply

